Takara House Japanese Cuisine 物語

3 Feb

Hellllooo! 🙂 Today’s post is going to be about a Japanese eating place, cuisine, restaurant, all you can eatery, whatever you’d prefer to call such a place of foodery.

The title has 「物語」in it…because it means “Story” LOL Monogatari = story in Japanese 🙂 Basically the story of us going to takara house to eat :3 mrow

So Mr. Leo and I decided to go on a lunch date at this Japanese all you can eat place. Yes, I know. “Kat, you’re on a diet but you’re eating buffet?? HORRIBLE EXAMPLE!” I know!! But le bf has a way of talking me into anything. Literally, anything (._.) nobody else can talk me into a buffet but him. He should feel special.

^Look at him feeling all special and stuff. -.- Lucky guy don’t know how lucky. Only one can make me eat with a smile on my face mrow LOL miracle worker much? :S

^Me, no make-up face and lion hair after exams mrow. Why Mr. Leo can look so pretty even tho just done exams??

Anyhow, we decided to go with the all you can eat $10.99+tax which includes anything on the lunch menu except the sashimi. I thought this was pretty decent for an all you can eat, considering it had everything. To be quite honest, in respects to the sashimi-less issue, just order the sushi version of it and leave the rice! I know, I know not so economical but still!

Here’s a bad picture of the menu. (Mr. Leo and I not used to restaurant blogging okay! what? We’ll get better if I start loosing weight LOL)

^Whatever, zoom if you really want to know everything on the menu! Haha it’s basically a typical Japanese menu with all the different rolls and whatnots. It also includes some “kitchen” items which are like tempura, fried stuff and meats.

^Sneaky sneaky shot I took of man working in background. I could work for the FBI with my creeper skills mrow

^Another little iphone pic of the places interior ^^ Quite nice, although the lanterns words don’t quite match the restaurant (they say Ramen, but no ramen to be found on menu). Still, for a place that offers good, affordable food the atmosphere is nice. Kind of reminds me of a shady samurai sketch yakuza meetup place, actually. Except for the big windows that let everybody peer in, of course.

^Table set up. I must say, their cutlery is not half bad 🙂

^A G, even at a Japanese restaurant mrow. He’s uhm… a boss, allday erryday. LOL

So we ordered, waited patiently for the food to arrive.

One thing about this place, while the female waitress is friendly…I can’t say the same for the male waiter. He was kind of very…unapproachable. Or..just something about him is kind of unfriendly. Perhaps it’s the fact that he NEVER CRACKS A SMILE and GIVES OFF THE AIR THAT HE HATES HIS JOB. Which to me is not acceptable in the consumer-targeted industry.

Eventually, the nice waitress brought out the food 🙂 Here’s some pics of our fatassery!

^Spicy Handroll that we ordered anyhow 🙂 I liked, but kind of tasted like shredded crab meat… 6/10?

^Okay, photos from Mr. Leo’s iphone so much heavier than pics from my itouch… HOW COME? WHAT IS THIS BLASPHEMY ?? Anywho, those are some rolls 🙂 I swear, only places outside of Japan have these amazing delicacies mrow ❤ The one covered in yellow was like 5/10 had only greens. Eel roll was goooddd 8/10. One covered with salmon tasttyyyy! 9/10 wtf

^I believe that is the Sakura roll (7/10) , Unagi sushi (7/10) and Dragon roll (8/10)? 🙂

^Ton Katsu 🙂 Mr. Leo likes apparently. I actually like too, but very fattening la. I give it a 7.5/10 though, because my mommy makes it better mrow. #japaneseproblems

^Some tempura. 7/10, shrimp very thin as my mother pointed out. Not bad though for a buffet.

^Chicken Teriyaki and Eel handroll. I actually liked the chicken teriyaki, not too heavy and gross (8/10). The eel hand roll was actually quite nice, good combination with avocado and all! (8/10).

Doesn’t seem like much from the photos, but we we’re quite full after that. My parents actually came joined us afterwards, so then we had to eat a bit some more, but not much different from what we oredi ordered.

In all, I think it’s quite nice to eat here. The food is definitely not bad, the service is okay and summore it’s affordable.

Pros:

-Affordable
– Tasty
-Rolls are not filled with rice like some other places
-They have nice azuki bean ice cream
-Wide variety to choose from

Cons:

-Service sometimes on the slower side
-The tea is sometimes lukewarm and faded, making it taste quite a la shitty
-Waiter doesn’t smile
-Claimed to open at 11, had to wait until 11:15 or something to enter. While it’s not a big deal it is important for eateries to adhere to their claimed opening times.

Overall: 8/10

I do recommend this place, I believe the variety of foods offered is great for the price, and the food is quite tasty. Perfect for students on a low budget who still want to fill themselves (although I don’t recommend ANYBODY to eat here daily…that’s just unhealthy). The pros outweigh the unimportant cons, as you can probably tell from the list above.  I would definitely want to go again (provided it’s some special occasion and Mr. Leo somehow convinces me) and think it’s quite a nice place.

Address: 

50 Bur Oak Ave
Unit 6
Markham, ON L6C 0A2

(905) 887-1988

Happy Sushi everybody! Now GOGOGO! Eat there haha. I swear you won’t regret it! (Unless you’re allergic…then don’t go)

Disclaimer: This was not sponsored in any way, and I am NOT responsible for dissatisfaction of any kind. I am simply writing a quick little post about what I think of the restaurant! 🙂

Haha! Thanks for reading my blog! Please comment and follow! I appreciate every single one! ^^

Bye! See you next time! ^^

-Kat

Leave a Reply

